Mark Twain’s Publishing Career

Mark Twain’s books were published at a time when international copyright did not exist. Many were released first in England to obtain the British copyright, then in the United States. Listed here are dates for release in the United States of his major works. For further information on first editions, refer to Merle Johnson’s work A Bibliography of Mark Twain or the Bibliography of American Literature.

1867 The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County and Other Sketches
1869 The Innocents Abroad or The New Pilgrim’s Progress
1871 Mark Twain’s (Burlesque) Autobiography and First Romance
1872 Roughing It
1873 The Gilded Age: A Tale of Today – co-authored with Charles Dudley Warner
1875 Mark Twain’s Sketches, New and Old
1876 The Adventures of Tom Sawyer
1876 Ah Sin, a play written with Bret Harte
1877 A True Story, and the Recent Carnival of Crime.
1878 Punch, Brothers, Punch!
1880 A Tramp Abroad
1880 1601, or Conversation as It Was by the Social Fireside in the Time of the Tudors
1882 The Stolen White Elephant Etc.
1882 The Prince and the Pauper: A Tale for Young People of All Ages
1883 Life on the Mississippi
1885 Adventures of Huckleberry Finn (The word “the” is not part of the title.)
1889 A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court
1892 Merry Tales
1892 The American Claimant
1893 The £1,000,000 Bank-Note and Other New Stories
1894 Tom Sawyer Abroad
1894 The Tragedy of Pudd’nhead Wilson and the Comedy Those Extraordinary Twins
1896 Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc
1896 Tom Sawyer Detective
1897 How to Tell a Story and Other Essays
1897 Following the Equator
1900 The Man That Corrupted Hadleyburg
1900 English as She Is Taught
1901 To the Person Sitting in Darkness
1902 A Double Barrelled Detective Story
1903 My Debut as a Literary Person with Other Essays and Stories
1903 A Dog’s Tale
1904 Extracts from Adam’s Diary Translated from the Original MS.
1905 King Leopold’s Soliloquy
1906 What is Man?
1906 Eve’s Diary
1906 The $30,000 Bequest
1907 Christian Science with Notes Containing Corrections to Date
1907 A Horse’s Tale
1909 Is Shakespeare Dead?
1909 Extract from Captain Stormfield’s Visit to Heaven
1909 Queen Victoria’s Jubilee

Released after his death:

1910 Mark Twain’s Speeches
1916 The Mysterious Stranger: A Romance
1917 What Is Man? And Other Essays
1923 Europe and Elsewhere
1924 Mark Twain’s Autobiography (edited by Albert Bigelow Paine)
1962 Letters from the Earth

2010, 2013, 2015 Mark Twain’s Autobiography